Skip links


3,444,006 (2016 estimate)

Gross Domestic Product

$81.609 billion (2018 estimate)

Inflation Rate

6.55% (December 2017)


Uruguayan Peso (UYU)

Calling Country Code



UTC – 3:00

Montevideo (Capital)

Uruguay, officially the Oriental Republic of Uruguay (República Oriental del Uruguay), is a sovereign state in the southeastern region of South America. It borders Argentina to its west and Brazil to its north and east, with the Río de la Plata (River of Silver) to the south and the Atlantic Ocean to the southeast. The country is home to an estimated 3.44 million people, of whom 1.8 million live in the metropolitan area of its capital and largest city, Montevideo. With an area of approximately 176,000 square kilometers (68,000 sq mi), the country is geographically the second-smallest nation in South America, after Suriname.

It is ranked first in Latin America in democracy, peace, low rate of corruption, e-government, and is first in South America when it comes to press freedom, size of the middle class and prosperity. It tops the rank of absence of terrorism, a unique position within South America. It ranks second in the region on economic freedom, income equality, per-capita income and inflows of foreign direct investment. Uruguay is the third-best country on the continent in terms of HDI, GDP growth, innovation and infrastructure. It is regarded as a high-income country (top group) by the UN. The country is also the third-best ranked in the world in e-Participation. Top exports of Uruguay include combed wool, rice, soybeans, frozen beef, malt and milk. And nearly 95% of Uruguay’s electricity comes from renewable energy, mostly hydroelectric facilities and wind parks.

Let’s Chat About
Your Projects

This website uses cookies to improve your web experience.